Devil's Bridge

I've been working with my colleague, Steve, for over fifteen years now. Even if I'm not in the office, there's rarely a working day that I don't speak to him and usually more than once. We've both been throughout a lot during that time and I hope I have been as good a friend to him as he has always been to me. 

And although I wasn't always in then office every day, I've also been used to seeing him at least a couple of times a week throughout that time, so he has been one of the people I've really noticed not seeing during the lockdown so today we took advantage of the new rules and went for a walk with his kids down by Devil's Bridge and along the river. 

As we do talk so often, it's not like we had much catching up to do but it was still very nice to see him. It felt like another step along the road back to  normality, even if the new normal might be a little different from the old one. 

It was another hot day, today, and in the afternoon I popped outside to find Tux and Flea sheltering under the car (see Extra). I've never seen them do that before. I guess they haven't needed to!

****
-10.2 kgs
Reading: 'Underland' by Robert Macfarlane

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.