Devil's Bridge

One of the things that I think we should be very grateful for - although I'm not sure to whom - is the weather that we had during the lockdown, last year. From March through to [whenever it ended], Dan and I went out walking every day and only had to put up with the rain on, I reckon, two or three occasions.

The weather hasn't been so good, this year, until this weekend, which has been lovely. And just in time for the bank holiday and half-term. It's one of those occasions when Kirkby Lonsdale is crammed. There are cars parked *everywhere* and the streets, and the cafés and pubs, are full. (Abi, legally allowed to work six hours, is doing ten hour shifts. To whom do I report her boss?*)

I took a walk out with Dan, this afternoon, enjoying the sunshine. This was the view through the trees and it looks quite idyllic. (Admittedly, you can't share the experience of the young chap happily wandering around with a huge boombox. My kneejerk grumpiness at the unsolicited sound was totally mitigated by how genuinely pleased he seemed to be bringing radio to the masses.)

*I have tried to tell her she can't work more than six hours but I have had to stop because I don't think all that eyeball rolling can be good for her eyes.

****
Reading: 'Touching The Void' by Joe Simpson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.