Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Treats

MUCH cooler today, and much more pleasant for us. A good day for, say, trimming the hedge. But we did it in the hot sun yesterday, but boy! it looks smashing.

Having missed out on my favourite soya flat white from Prêt yesterday, I was even more determined to get one today, so we decided to go right down town, and have a wee dander through the Gardens too. But this time I brought my bus pass, for the return journey, if necessary. (8,033 steps).

We noted two more cafes open, but walked on by. And who should we bump into but Isobel, one of Archie’s erstwhile walkers. She’s been busy studying (4th year medic) but thankfully wasn’t hauled in to help with the pandemic (because there wasn’t enough PPE for students). Archie was very excited to see her. And when she left us, he stood and watched her until she was out of sight.

No queue at Prêt, coffees (and croissants) purchased, along with the £20 for 20 coffees card. We went down to the East Gardens to enjoy them. And the grass has now been replaced, at last, after many many months as a sea of MUD.

My bus was nearby, but after an infusion of coffee and a sit down, I decided to walk through the rest of the Gardens. We met a remote grass cutter, and Archie barked like mad. There it was, whirring around, no groundsman or gardener to be seen. It’s a huge area, not really ideal for a remote machine -  perhaps it had escaped from the cottage at the other end of the Gardens,  but it was actually now kind of stuck in a corner. Probably still there.

We were disappointed to see that the beautiful Ross Fountain was not founting! Why not??

I then went to the bus stop while the others walked through the Grassmarket and home. It was quite exciting to be on a bus again. Only two people on it, and I didn’t even touch the bell to get off, the other person did. In town we saw airport trams and buses going to and fro with no passengers, or very few. I suppose they just have to keep going. 

When I got off the bus, away ahead I saw Maggie and her mum. Maggie is sweetest wee Border Terrier, so I shouted, ‘MAGGIE!’ - she came running to me, dragging her mum. She has an endearing wee habit of ‘hugging’ one’s leg. Also popped on to see my pal who should be in hospital today, but it’s been postponed till Monday.

I am SO enjoying just looking out at our perfectly trimmed hedge...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.