Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

TechEd 2009 -- The Hands on Conference

Twenty miles from home is where I spent the day, and if my camera had not been in the trunk of the car, I would have had the most beautiful shot of Mt. Baldy for Zou Clay. The drive north to the city of Ontario was a panorama of beauty.

This conference specializes in the latest greatest in technology for educators. The purpose is to bridge the gap between education and technology. Actually it's to bridge the gap between educators and students. It was a good and somewhat exciting day (if not a little overwhelming). I spent the entire day in Camtasia workshops presented by the guys and gals of the TechSmith Corporation.

I encourage you to go to the TechSmith website--they give some free software that you might be interested in--Jing, screencast, and Snagit--those are not just for educators. They said our students would be interested.

Tomorrow after teaching my morning class, I'll be headed back to the convention center. One of the spotlight sessions is titled, "Teaching Spectacularly with Cellphones." The write-up says that "Cellphones are used to text, video, take assignments, document work, translate, podcast, and interface with Web 2.0," that sounds like I'll need to wear my helmet and buckle my seatbelt because we'll be launched into the future, and then if that isn't enought to take my breath away, another event is titled "Preparing to Deliver Education in 2015," so tomorrow might be large preview of coming events. Gulp!


I hope you've had a good Monday. Good night from Southern California.
Rosie, aka Carol


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.