Work in Progress

Lockdown Day 79

I had a very busy and productive day at work today, although I was back working from home and it's surprising how much more you can get done when you don't have the interruptions of colleagues!  I had my lunch break sat on the terrace with Alan and then got back to it.

When we finished work, we walked down to the beach as work has started on painting a mural in the tunnel leading down the beach and I wanted to see the work in progress.  The 'Welcome to Saltdean' sign was erected a little while ago and the mural which is being painted by two award-winning Brighton based artists, will reflect the wealth of marine life on our doorstep.  It will be painted on both walls and the ceiling so that it will feel like you're underwater,  with weatherproof paint and a graffiti-proof, wipe clean covering.  Yesterday they painted the blue coat and today a pod of dolphins and a seal have appeared, so now I plan to go down daily and capture the transformation, then I will blip the end result.  

After me catching up with all your journals at the weekend, I'm steadily falling behind again, it's very difficult to keep up when I'm working, but I'll catch up again soon! 

Ibby messaged me earlier, Emirates have laid off about 7,000 employees today due to Coronavirus and it sounds like there will be even more job losses.  He doesn't know if his job is safe or not which is a worry for him, because if he's made redundant he'll have to leave Dubai and his only option is to go back  home to the Lebanon.  But it's not just Emirates, all the airlines are having to do the same, it's such a worry for so many people :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.