WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Wheelin' an' Dealin'!

When we moved in here we used my sewing table as a dining table. I had acquired the old Singer Treadles in Dumfries (one from my friend and work colleague Karen). I put a lot of work in, sanding them down and wire brushing all the rust off. Then I primed them and painted them with black Hammerite. Frank fixed a top on and I had it in my sewing room.
It has always felt a bit big for our small room here. I told Frank I was going to advertise it and we could get a smaller table.
So, it went on Facebook Market place yesterday for £150. Who would have thought so many people wanted our table! Meanwhile I was on Market Place, Ebay and Gumtree searching for a new table. I was hoping I might find a reasonably priced Ercol one to match the chairs we got last year. Lo and behold after seeing quite a few around the £400-500 mark or more I found one the perfect size and in really good condition for £250.
We had arranged for the buyer of my sewing table to come over in the afternoon so I packed a picnic and we set off to collect the Ercol table. It was about 90 minute drive each way but the weather was good and it was nice to get out for a drive after so long in lockdown. We left Bella with Bob next door.
When we got there, the couple gave us 2 Ercol chairs with the table - they need a bit of TLC but Frank will enjoy doing them up.
When we got back the lady phoned to say I'd given her too much money! I gave her my bank details and she transferred it back to me. What am I like? Frank said I'm not fit to be let out with my new pension money! :-D
The girl who bought my sewing table was thrilled to bits with it and I love our new one so everybody's happy!

By the way we all wore masks during the Wheelin' an' Dealin'.

It was little Arlo's 8th Birthday today - another one we've had to miss because of lockdown. Anyway, by all accounts he had a good day and played the board game we sent him.

Soon time for Sewing Bee!

That's all for today :-) x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.