LadyPride

By LadyPride

Grey

Didn't sleep well last night. My husband and I had stayed up talking, drinking beer (me) and whiskey (him) and waiting for my sister (who was out in out local pub with some mutual friends) to come home.

I suggested that we take Audrey up to Morecambe to brighten everyone's day after yesterday's sad news. So off we went.

Everything seemed grey up there though. It was hard to raise a smile. Grey faces, grey weather, grey cups of tea, grey motorways.

So eery and quiet too. Sat in his Grandpa's house, his Grandma's chair in the lounge has already gone. Was so used to seeing her sat there. The back of her head as she was reading, or embroidering or watching television as we walked past the window to her front door.

His Grandpa has set to, removing traces of her already (to help him cope am sure). But little things remain. Her embroidery pin cushion, her perfume bottle in the bathroom, her magazines under the coffee table.

I bought my husband some snowdrops to remind him of her at home. A little windowsill tribute, pictured.

Thank you all for your lovely messages yesterday. They were so appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.