madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Tor

Today The Exile and I set off for a little excursion to look at paving stones for my backyard. We exercised oscar and Ginger in the field before we left. We were the only visitors at Markstone Granite which was set in this magnificent location. On the horizon you can make out Brent Tor - a carboniferous basaltic volcano now weathered down and with a church built on top in the 13C! 
I chose Chittor Black Limestone paving that comes in a mixed size.If you scroll down you can see it!  Also in their showroom I bought a black slate serving  platter, an oak breadboard and 3 coathooks! Have a look at their showrrom page to see the gorgeous things they make!I also discovered fans that go on top of a woodburner to circulate the warm air - they were not for sale so ebay it is! 
Next stop was Strawberry Fields - a farmshop. Again in the middle of nowhere but it was packed! There were sinks, handwash and paper towels to use before you went in. The shop was full of lovely farm produce and other delicious things. I bought cake for The Builder who was back home fitting shelves in the alcove by the woodburner! On tues the plumber put in my water heater and plumbed in my dishwasher - so things still moving along slowly! The sample tiles came today so i was able to make a decision - but as thye are smaller they will take longer to fit and probably won't come for another week. The Builder and Tiler have a 4 day roofing job so it will another 2 weeks until the tiles and my shelves can go up - but the end is in sight! 
Sadly when I got home only one of the coathooks could go on the door as it has panels - but I'm sure I'll find places for the other two!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.