Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

What are the odds?

So after four months of double vision and wearing an eyepatch, today I got a diagnosis. Myasthenia, as I guessed. Another autoimmune condition. Once you’ve got one you can start collecting them, like a hand of poker. I did actually read about one person that had five distinct autoimmune conditions. Hopefully I will stop at two. Antibody testing, CT scans, possible MRI and medication beckon. But at least I know now. Oh and I can’t drive until the DVLA have assessed me medically to see whether I am fit to continue holding a driving licence. And I can’t go swimming on my own which is a real bummer. Will have to stop sneaking out of the house in the middle of the night for solo skinny dipping in the Basingstoke Canal ...

On a more serious note it does explain a few other issues I’ve been having such as muscular weakness, mild choking and the fact that I tend to get tired more easily. Occupational health are going to love me, I’m their best customer ...

*

Finished reading The Forty Rules of Love by Elif Shafak today. Beautiful book; so well crafted, so thought provoking. Do read it. This is one of many extracts:  


‘For despite what some people say, love is not a sweet feeling bound to come and quickly go away. In many ways the twenty-first century is not that different from the thirteenth century. Both will be recorded in history as times of unprecedented religious clashes, cultural misunderstandings, and a general sense of insecurity and fear of the Other. At times like these, the need for love is greater than ever. Because love is the very essence and purpose of life. As Rumi reminds us, it hits everybody, including those who shun love – even those who use the word “romantic” as a sign of disapproval.’

*

Had a lovely FaceTime with TGR, We talked a lot about book recommendations and about coping with frustrations at work. She has three days off and looked like she was enjoying the break. Also six years ago today since she graduated. That was one of the best days ever https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/4544338

*

The Dizzle had another excellent set of marks in his studies. Top banana. Really pleased for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.