ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Bridge Over Troubled Water

Absolutely shocking weather today, so spent most of the afternoon researching - and then trying to buy - a replacement bridge for my bass guitar project. The main problem is that because it’s a short scale bass, the narrow string spacing massively narrows down the available options. If I go for the correct spacing then I’m pretty much committed to getting one from “over the water” i.e. the States. Trouble is, by the time you factor in the postage and poor exchange rate, it starts to get very expensive and the whole point of this project is to do the upgrades without spending more than the guitar cost in the first place!
Shopping closer to home (eBay!) means a very limited choice and compromising slightly on the spacing but both cost and delivery times are a lot more reasonable.
But why upgrade at all, you might ask - the standard bridge isn’t great but it does an adequate job.
Well, basically, because I can (the full on nerdy answer is that intonation suffers with the two saddle set up and it’s better to go for a bridge with four individual saddles. The increased mass of a quality bridge can also help with the overall tone)
My track record is not good though. The last guitar I “upgraded” I spent a fortune on, got bored as soon as I’d finished it and sold it at a loss! I’m determined this time to keep the costs down and, let’s face it, it doesn’t look like I’ll have a chance of playing any sort of guitar in public any time soon, so there’s no need to rush.
But it couldn’t hurt just to have a quick look at the Seymour Duncan website, could it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.