Da Croft Formerly Kent as Pillibreck

A breezy day.  It was warm, with sunny spells this morning, clouded over and rained since late afternoon.  

I've been working in the museum again today.  We were fully booked for the day.  One thing I hadn't thought of, visitors to Shetland like to tell us about their holidays, which took a lot of time.  A quiet night at home, Sammy isn't even wanting walkies.  Hopefully it will dry up soon.

While doing a bit of research at work, I stumbled across this old croft house name, which made me giggle.  The Shetland word for male genitals, is pillie, which triggered the inner child in me.  It was an abandoned vod house in 1890, but I headed out at lunch to go investigate.  On my arrival, I discovered the old house has been knocked down, and a newer build and new name in place.  It's now called Norbreck.  Shame they hadn't kept the original name.  Taken at Califf, Tingwall.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.