Water ghosts

I took a walk with Dan down to Underley after work, this afternoon. All the way through the lockdown, the sluice gate has been closed (as you can see here). Now, though, it's been opened up although I don't know whether there's a reason for that or if someone just walked along the wall and did it, maybe to see if it still worked.

Either way, what's interesting is that you can see what I think would have been the original path of the stream. I wouldn't have suggested that before the Minx and I stayed in Haweswater a couple of years ago. The reservoir was so low then that you could walk through the old village that was flooded and the path of a river could be seen, complete with an old bridge across it. If hadn't seen it for myself I wouldn't have believed that these ghosts of old waterways can persist even after they been flooded for decades. 

****
-10.9 kgs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.