ENOHPELET

I will spare you the details of my dentistry but I was back there again, today, for another procedure involving a sedative: my third time! 

On the first occasion I think they underestimated how susceptible I'd be to the medication - I guess they just went by my weight - and I was on the sofa for the rest of the day. Last time was better and today I walked out of the surgery feeling right as rain, although the Minx drove me home. Let's face it, I probably wasn't quite as right as I felt :-)

And indeed, I spent the first hour when we got back dozing on the sofa although this is what normally happens when I lie on a sofa, anyway, so I don't know how much of that was down to the after effects of the sedative.

At lunchtime, the Minx decided to drive over to Ingleton and visit Lords, the salvage people, and see if there was anything she fancied getting for the garden at the new house. I thought I'd go along with her just to get out of the house and have some fresh air. 

So while she wandered about sizing things up and making mental notes I was somewhat less purposed and simply mooched around in the sunshine. One of the items on offer was an old phone box, yours for £4,500, if I remember correctly. I opened the door and half stepped in taking a tentative sniff but thankfully it didn't smell the way they used to. 

My most specific phone box memory is needing a lift home from Scouts after school. I didn't have the required 2p - 2p! - to make the call and so I spoke to an operator and reversed the charges. I don't even know if you can speak to an operator these days! In fact, I wonder if any of my kids have ever used a phone box?

****
-10.4 kgs
Reading: 'I Am Not Your Baby Mother' by Candice Brathwaite

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.