Birthday

My birthday today! I am 45.

This morning we had a specially chosen short film for Saturday Morning Pictures: Sons of the Desert. Neither of the children had ever seen a Laurel and Hardy film before - Al asked dolefully, 'is it all going to be in black and white?'. They both really enjoyed it though - perhaps more because neither of them were expecting to.

I spent a massive amount of time and energy during my previous working life marketing and promoting Laurel and Hardy films and have a huge amount of affection for them, their enormous and dedicated fan base and the special place they have in cinema history. It was often considered to be a bit of a duff job in the office but I worked hard on them and thought that others should do the same. I can understand why the whippersnappers got more excited about some hot new comic, but I noticed today how Graham Linehan had lifted a scene from Sons of the Desert, and dropped it - totally unchanged - into one of my favourite episodes of The IT Crowd, and was reminded of their huge influence. (The episode, fact fans, is 'Calamity Jen' and the scene is where Roy and Moss arrive at the 'stress buffet' - hilarious both times!).

Anyway, after the movie, I took Betsy to her first softball academy session of the year - she was so excited to be going back as they haven't had one since November.

We got back at about 6 and went straight out for an early dinner as it is my birthday. When we got home I had presents and cake - a Catepillar Cake which Al whispered was 'bought at Tesco'! It was very nice! I had some lovely presents, including these Jimmy Choos, a fab-u-lous Whitefox jumper and lots and lots of other lovely things. Chris also suprised me with a trip to Venice for next weekend where we will have dinner in our favourite Restaurant, Centrale. What a lucky girl I am!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.