fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Windmill

I'm all for natural energy sources. This week I heard an article on the Today programme where a spokesman from Sellafield said that they have some nuclear waste stores dating back to the fifties that have no documentation. They actually don't know what's in them.

So, until they crack cold fusion, it seems to me that solar and wind power are the best option. That's not to say the government are managing that particularly well, especially around the subsidies to unethical firms like E-On who try and put up windfarms in unsuitable locations just so they can get their money.

But I think the windmills are beautiful and I saw this one on the way up to Edinburgh on Saturday morning. The way it emerged from the mist put me in mind of both War Of The Worlds and Day Of The Triffids. Despite their beauty, they looked like ominous intruders on the landscape.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.