2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Oh!

Xin nian kuai le (Happy New Year in Chinese)

Two years ago I did a whole lesson for a graded observation that was based around Chinese New Year.

We had red money bags, fortune cookies and sweets. But before the students could have them they had to research the significance of each :)

I have had a puncture today, or rather a blow out. Luckily I was going slow enough for it not to be a problem. But it meant putting on the "get me home" spare.

And this, of course, meant using the jack! Those of you who have had to use the jack from your car boot will know they are somewhat useless! This was no exception. The handle is so long it was almost impossible to use. And it was chucking it down!

Then of course there is the small matter of the special fitting for the alloy wheels. Now where did I put it when I bought the car????? Is it actually IN the car???????? Damn! The rain was blowing in the boot and through the open doors as I looked for it!

SUCCESS! I have the thing!

I have the car sufficiently raised using the useless jack to get the wheel off.

But a lot more lifting needed to get the spare on.

By this time my fingers were getting numb from the cold and I thought maybe I should have called the RAC after all.

However, 15 minutes saw the job done (how long would I have waited for the RAC?)

I was very impressed by the young lad in the tyre shop - I was only there 10 minutes from arrival to departure.

In other news:
England beat Ireland.
Ryan Giggs scored for Manchester United to maintain his record of scoring in every Premiership season since it started (23 of them). One player scoring in 23 successive seasons in the same league is unlikely to happen again. I'll even be bold enough to say it will never happen again.

Have a great week

It's all good really

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.