Welcome Encounter

My little slice of heaven!  A sunny but cool morning, the dew on the grass a sign of the September day.  I pottered here all morning.  Absolute bliss.  Silence other than the birds singing and the bees buzzing on the lavender flowers. No-one to answer to but myself, no emails demanding a response, meetings to attend, phone calls to make.

After an hour or so, the elderly man who has an allotment behind mine came along on his bicycle to tend to his plot.  He has been at this allotment site for 40 years and has a wealth of knowledge about the history and identity of different inherited plants on my plot (and others).  Today he told me about a recipe for rose hip, blackberry and elderberry compot that he makes to put on his cereal each morning, and of his grandmother's recipe for rhubarb, blackberry and raspberry jam.  I have a note to try them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.