bananablip

By bananablip

teresa

i always knew that some days would be harder to write than others and i always knew that this one was going to be a tough one.

i think i've already written a lot about teresa on blip before, but we met while we were volunteering at a local NGO 3 years ago. teresa made a massive impact on me as i watched her care for orphaned and vulnerable children. she didn't just treat them as a group but showed special care and attention to each one of them as individuals and that really stuck with me.

when we had both finished with that volunteer programme and i returned to zambia under my own steam, we still remained good friends. she shared with me the vision of building a small house in the bush where she could live and minister to the local communities, and i knew i wanted to be a part of it. my church at home helped, and eventually teresa and the family were able to move out there. it's not an easy life but she knows it's what God has called her into. even today when she was telling me of her struggles, she still remained with that great big smile on her face.

teresa has been such an encouragement to me. there were days that i needed to spend some time away from ndola and so i would usually head out into the bush to visit her. without exception, she was always able to minister to me and speak into my life. i have never left that place without feeling refreshed and inspired, which i guess was always her vision for the farm.

even today, she was able to speak with such wisdom and clarity about my next chapter and encourage me in it. on days like this, when i find it really hard to think about leaving zambia, it's always great to hear confirmation from good friends that God has it all under control.

because it's the rainy season, it was a very nerve-wracking drive into the bush today. even so, i couldn't help wishing that i could make that journey from shrewsbury once in a while.


(i'm taking a break from my normal blipping routine and from now until i leave i will be posting portraits of the people that i love here in zambia. i might put them all together at the end to make a mammoth picture to hang on my wall, but mostly they will stay here on blip so i can remember these lovely people).


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.