top of the world

Skeoch Hill is "The Hill" to us in the way that Ben Nevis is "The Hill" to people in Fort William. We can climb it without getting in a car - it is right on our (back) doorstep. It's not a big hill but it has a wonderful view. I've lost count of the number of times I've been up here over the years, and other members of my family have been up here many more times than I have, in their fell running days.

The going was quite rough near the top today as the heather is above knee height and pretty bushy. I was glad of a rest on the summit cairn. Here are my feet pointing in the direction of Dumfries. On a less hazy day you can see the Lake District hills. We once came up here as a family on a snowy New Year's Eve at midnight and watched the fireworks exploding all around us. Another time (in 1999) my Mum and Dad came up with us to watch the solar eclipse.

Today it was just Me, Myself and I

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.