ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Comfortably Numb

On this day in 2015, I had the sheer joy of seeing David Gilmour in concert - the first ones he’d done in nearly ten years. Two years later, on the same day, I had a different kind of pleasure as I performed one of Mr Gilmour’s best known tracks - “Comfortably Numb” - alongside my friend Stuart (for the more nerdy of you, that is a Fender Roger Waters Precision Bass I’m using for added authenticity)
Admittedly, Gilmour had filled the Royal Albert Hall and we were playing to thirty odd people in a village hall but when you’re up there playing classics like that, the size of the audience is almost irrelevant.
Best of all, because I was on bass, I was able to appreciate Stuart’s sublime interpretation of the end solo as much as anyone in that audience!
The plan earlier this year to was gather some like minded individuals together to celebrate Stuart and I turning 60, by going back to that village hall and holding another concert of classic tunes for our friends and family. But Covid totally put the kibosh on that and I really don’t see it happening any time now before the middle of next year. Looks like it’s going to have to be a celebration of still hanging on at 61 instead!
So, no live playing this year and all the gigs I was going to see have been cancelled or rescheduled. Sadly, I think I must now forget live music for 2020 and hope that it will return with a bang in 2021. If I can believe that will be true then it should get me through winter - and might even give me the motivation to do some practising.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.