ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Spread Your Wings

Those who live around Kendal will immediately spot that this photo was not taken today! However, I’m going with it as it was taken outside the gym - a place where it’s becoming more challenging to stand and wait for admittance. No problem wandering around the gardens admiring the plants and spotting the butterflies when it’s warm and sunny, not so pleasant when it’s cold, wet and windy!
Relieved that gyms were not directly affected by yesterday’s regulation changes, but there has been a tightening of procedures. Have to wear a mask now, on arrival, and not take it off until actually in one of the gym studios. If you want to move to a different room, a mask must be worn whilst in the corridor and reception areas. No real hardship in the overall scheme of things and happy to comply with anything that keeps the gym open.
Less sure about the QR code I’m supposed to scan and upload to the Government’s Covid tracing app. The gym obviously have my details on file for track and trace purposes and as my visits are all pre-booked they know when I was there. Not going to be difficult to get in touch if the need arises.
If I download the app however, then the government will be able to track my movements whenever I scan one of these QR codes. Not comfortable with that. I don’t go to pubs, rarely visit anyone else, even more rarely have visitors in our house and always wear a mask on the once a week supermarket shop. Doing that has kept me safe so far, and no reason to believe it won’t continue to keep me safe. Trust me, as a sixty year old diabetic I have no wish to find out how I’d cope if I caught it!
So I won’t be downloading any sort of app, any time soon. Any system that relies on a person carrying - and using - a smart phone 24/7 may work with youngsters, but is probably going to be somewhat inaccurate if you’re relying on us oldies to remember to take our phones with us every time we go out. And to actually turn them on and use them if we do remember!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.