Test!

The lady at the test centre (see yesterday's Blip) told me that they have added loads more test slots now and that I wouldn't need to drive to John O'Groats for a test. "Just keep hitting refresh" she recommended, using one those phrases that would have been completely meaningless thirty years ago. 

So that's what I did and, in the end, I managed to get tests for me and Abi in Nelson at "Former Fairground, Carr Road". There's something about "former fairground" that very much sums up the current state of the UK for me. 

It was about an hour's drive each way but Abi DJ'd for us and I think she was pleased to be out of the house. The test itself was all right. Abi was divorced from her tonsils a while ago, so she followed directions to swab the their erstwhile location whilst I discovered an hitherto unsuspected violent gag reflex.

Anyway, I have to say it was pretty well organised and the people staffing the site were all lovely. Only forty-eight hours "or so" (according to the lady at the exit) until we get our results. 

****
-11.9 kgs
Reading: 'The Vanishing Half' by Brit Bennett

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.