ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Smooth

First of all, a confession - I love ironing. Not only do I find it quite relaxing, but the transformation of creased bits of material into smooth, neatly folded clothes and linen really appeals to my slightly OCD nature.
However, I have been deprived of my favourite ironing board for a couple of years as the one I bought for our Chester flat proved to be too big to store in the limited space we have there, so I had to use the new one at home and take “old faithful” to the flat. Where it has been used only a very few times whilst the new one has annoyed me on a weekly basis - narrow feet so feels unstable in use.
Thought I’d cracked it yesterday when mum said she was getting rid of her board, which is the same model as “old faithful”. Hopefully, all it really needed was a new cover but unfortunately, a closer inspection revealed galloping rust and a fractured, bent frame so off to the tip it went.
But the seed had been planted. Decided to bring “old faithful” home so went shopping for a cheap and cheerful one to keep at the flat. Surprisingly hard to find one that is small enough to fit in the limited storage space available, but the one in the picture (literally) just scrapes in. Even bought a new iron as well (NOT the one in the picture - that’s just a door stop!) so really looking forward to next ironing day now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.