ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Got to Get Better in a Little While

These are not just any old face masks - these are Marks and Spencer Antibacterial Face Coverings. I’m assuming this means that I can take them back for a full refund if I do catch Covid. Or perhaps they’re designed so that any germs I breathe out only attack the common herd and keep us middle class types nice and safe. Or not.
One third of the way through this chronicle of my 60th year, I thought I’d take stock and see what has changed since June 1st. Well, I can now go shopping, go to the gym, go out to eat and drink and visit friends and family - none of which was possible four months ago. But I do now have to wear a mask whenever I go into an enclosed space and it’s still not possible to go to the theatre or a concert.
Recent announcements do not fill me with hope that things will improve any time soon. We still have our “freedoms” but they’re becoming more and more restricted as Boris does everything possible to avoid a second full lockdown. Many areas where household mixing is banned and you can only have groups of 6 or less where it is allowed. Curfews on pubs and restricted travel in the hot spots. Cases rising rapidly and hospital admissions starting to follow suit.
I sense the next few weeks will be critical in how things play out. Let’s hope the doom mongers are proved wrong and this second wave is not as bad as feared. It will be interesting to look back again on 1st February next year to see what - if anything - has changed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.