Flowers on a Friday

Bit like fish and chips on a Friday really, having fresh flowers in the house, you know it’s the start of the weekend!
I have done all sorts of odds and ends in the office today. Paid suppliers, chased up orders, waited ages in queues for two queries with utility companies.
Then this afternoon my late uncles wife rang and we chatted and caught up on her news.
Next I rang a distant cousin to ask about the grave where mums ashes are going, as it’s a family plot, with my Nan and Great Nan already there. We share the great Nan, and I was wondering how come she was laid to rest in Old Warden. Thankfully S was able to provide the answers. Seems Nanny Hobbs was evacuated in the war to Old Warden with her daughter and son in law, and stayed. They were all from Hackney in London originally.
My Nan and Grandad also moved out of London, but sometime after the war, (early 60s I think) and ended up in Bedford. My Mum and Dad had moved down from London after they were married in 1955.
So, now I know!
My positive today is good news indeed. My neighbour across the road, who I’ve been supporting a bit one way or another since his partner died just over a year ago, took his driving theory test today and passed. So pleased for him, as it will give him much more independence if he can pass the practical and get himself a car. We are a good half hour walk to the train station, and he’s been relying on lifts from us all and taxis, but it will really help him if he can drive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.