An Indian Autumn

I’m going Indian for the next few days thanks to this selection box bought with a free coupon from M&S and also coincidentally a curry given by my upstairs neighbour of leak fame.

I’m a sucker for neatly and cleverly packed goods. Apple have their product packaging down to a fine art and I have to say, M&S have made a very seductive package for this Indian meal for two or possibly 4 meals for one.

I met a neighbour as I bussed (I’m still hirpling) into town this morning and as we were both heading to M&S we had coffee together. Now that the TGIF drinkies at the local hostelry are a thing of the past, I rarely see any neighbours for a chat and hear the local gossip.

Thus fortified I hirpled down to the gallery manned on a Saturday by daughter#1 and her partner and was given to take home a big slice of her birthday cake made by friends in Cullen. I think it was lemon drizzle cake and it was one of the nicest cakes I have ever eaten. It went very nicely with spicy squash and apple soup for lunch.

The 4 bananas which skulked for too long in the fruit bowl have met their fate at last in the shape of a banana loaf which on first inspection appears to be without flaw - famous last words indeed! It is a very unwise lady who utters a statement like that............ goes to check.....yes it seems fine .

This is the month of family birthdays and today it was that of my baby brother, not that there is much of the baby left as for one month exactly he is only 2 years younger than I. He and his wife live near Bath and face to face contact is minimal so birthdays are special in catching up on family news via the telephone.

And so endeth another lockdown Saturday. I feel more vulnerable with regard to Covid than I did in April now that there’s so much infection around and I know that there are super spreaders walking the streets with no symptoms. Besides, we are being fed stories from on high that are meant, and do, frighten us to death (an unfortunate phrase ). What we need is some of Trump’s medicine, just in case.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.