Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Monday routine

My usual Monday morning routine - torture session at BodyStreet. It was damp-ish, but it’s only a four song walk (on my earpods) to the place (about 20 minutes).

Xena Zara was in her crate, but wanted to come out and welcome me. She hasn’t bothered before. She’s so wriggly and squirmy, it was impossible to get a decent shot of her. She wanted to sit up with me for cuddles - she’s an affectionate wee thing.

During my session, there were two older ladies (ie around my age) who came in to enquire. Kate instructed me not to scream or otherwise put them off. As if... Though I did yell (pretend) blue murder once when Toni was leaving a voice message to a prospective customer.

It wasn’t raining when I left, so I walked round via Bruntsfield, and it started to rain. I popped in to Project Coffee. There were no seats, but one old lady (slightly older than me this time) was sitting outside with a spare seat beside her. I asked if I could sit there, socially distanced of course, and she didn’t mind.

She was reading her paper, but she saw me fiddling with my phone, and asked, ‘What is this What’sApp?’ I explained it a bit. But she doesn’t have a smart phone. Trouble is, she wants to adopt a cat/kitten, and she has been told that she needs to have an ‘interview’ on What’sApp!! She can’t actually SPEAK to an actual PERSON, but has to conduct it all using technology. This is so ridiculous. She contacted them in May, but has got no further. Such a shame. There must be plenty of cats needing a home. I thought afterwards that I could have helped her. Maybe she’ll be there next week again, as she lives locally. I will be.

In the afternoon I took Archie out for a walk round the Links. We popped across the road to the pet shop, and I picked up some delicious looking treats for him.

Meanwhile, JR had been busy re-organising cupboards, polishing the new coffee table, and making a delicious meal in the slow cooker. Yum yum.

961 new Covid cases in Scotland, no deaths reported, though after the weekend there are no death results - I have no idea why. It was thus at the height of the pandemic. Surely for those monitoring pandemic deaths, it is 24/7, seven days a week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.