Lines down

I'm backblipping this and writing on the 15th.
A bit of an adventure!  Very heavy rain overnight and high winds during the day. We both had appointments with the dentist for routine cleaning. There was an hour and a half between the appointments, so we went separately. I passed G as he was coming home. He was lucky to get home! About 15 minutes after he got in the door, the power went out. On my way home nearly 2 hours later, I drove around a curve and noticed several cars parked on both sides of the road. A guy waved me over and I asked him what was happening. Not a party at the nearest house, no. A big maple tree had come crashing down on the power and telephone lines, snapping the power pole, and the road was blocked with the tree, the pole and live wires. I saw our neighbour Bill's car, but no sign of him. There were a few people around, including friend Bob, so I asked him if he'd been able to get cell service. He had, but it was sporadic. I tried calling G to let him know what was happening. No service. Bob offered to use his phone, but sporadic again. I was hesitant to go near the wires, but a handful of people had decided to navigate around them. Bob offered to try calling G again, so we walked down the nearest driveway to the house that's on the beach. Bob tried his phone about halfway down and managed to get decent reception, so I told G what was happening and asked him to pick me up at the nearest road. I could have walked all the way but I didn't have my proper walking shoes on and I didn't feel like hiking up the hills anyway. The other people were closer to home and none of them wanted a ride. 
I phoned Hydro when I got home and got the message that the crew should arrive at 4:30. I called our daughter on the mainland, hoping that their power hadn't gone out. Of course we can't check the internet because we don't have cell service at our place but we do have a land line - essential! R checked by no more info on the Hydro site than I got. She checked a few more times and it was finally updated - estimated time for the power to come back on - 11:45 pm!  I called Hydro just before going to bed, and the time had been changed to midnight. A bit of panic, because we had to go to the city the next day for an important medical test for G, and if we couldn't get to the car, it would screw up our plans to get to other appointments. We both heard it come back on at 1:45 am. Phew! All would work out for our trip to the city.
The good news is that neither of us have any cavities.  :-))
The main photo is the mess on the road, the first extra is a different shot of it, and the 2nd extra is of a young buck that was having breakfast outside the window. It looked to me like he was yelling, "Hey! Can't we eat in peace?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.