A specimen

A glorious sunny morning, and I thoroughly enjoyed my walk down Xwaaqw'um. Did some much needed housework when I got home, then after lunch I went out to do some more cleaning up in the garden. G was mowing the field, hopefully for the last time, and I heard the mower stop and voices. It was our neighbour bringing over some apples for us. I asked her if she wanted some carrots, and she did. Yay!  I don't feel like freezing any, so we picked a few. This one was ginormous!  She said that hers were tiny this year, so she was going to keep this one separate from the rest, take it into the house and exclaim to her partner, "Well, we grew one big one!" No idea what the inside will be like or how it will taste. There was another one just a bit smaller, so G and I will give that a try.  
I saw the boat in the extra a few days ago, just floating in the bay, and it was close to the shore today. I couldn't get a good photo of it, but decided to take one so I'd remember to look for it next time I walk on the trail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.