Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Transhumance

I was weeding the courtyard when I heard the unmistakeable ringing of cow bells.  I rushed indoors to grab my camera and took some photos of the transhumance as the cows came up the next street 100 metres from our house.  I love this biannual event which has remained unchanged for centuries and is of such economic and cultural significance. This is actually a blip snap of my very first entry on 10th November 2011.
In the morning, I did another acclimatising walk, a couple of hours climbing along the ridge to the next village and a stop at the café on the square. I did not join the walking group to respect any fears that I might have brought the virus with me from the UK.  The truth of the matter is they would be more likely to infect me than the other way round.  Tonight the President will announce new measure to put the brakes on a situation that is out of control with 50,000 new cases per day and hospitals running out of space. Most people expect a new lockdown for at least a month, possibly slightly less severe than the last one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.