Da Egg Has Gone!

A breezy day, with it picking up this evening.  Mostly sunny, some clouds, and then showers tonight.

Another day working in the museum, and another really quiet day.  A fairly lazy evening at home.  Me and Sammy got caught out in a couple of showers while walkies.  Another coronavirus case in Shetland, and transmitted in the hospital again.  Medical staff being shipped up from South, as many of our staff having to isolate. 

Continuing some family history research, this time going down my dad's line, through my granny Lorna (Christie nee Thomson).  At a quick glance, you'd think my dad's family are only from Cunningsburgh and neighbouring areas, but I can find the odd branch that drifts off.  I've got back to my 4x great granny, Ursula Manson, born here at Da Egg in 1774, oldest of 6 siblings.  Her father, Malcolm Manson, also came from the same area, possibly here, but her mother, Elizabeth Mouat, and both grandparents origins are unknown.  The family had moved to Hoswick by the time she was 14 years old.  She married my 4x great granddad, Magnus Jamieson (Levenwick), aged 25 in 1799.  They lived in Veester, Sandwick, and had 8 bairns born there, from 1800 - 1822, my 3x great granny Margaret, being the youngest.  The next record she appears living at Irvine's Pier, Lerwick, aged 67 in 1841, and living with her daughter, Elizabeth (m. Nisbet), and family.  Date of her death is unknown, but she didn't appear on the 1851 census.  Sadly the Egg croft house has been demolished with recent road works, but I do have a photo of it in 1896.  No trace to find, but on the map it was built almost on the 60⁰N latitude.  Taken at Da Egg, Shandrick (Channerwick). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.