Crash!

What a day!

Lou drove the mini bus today and I drove the lorry. We were working in Wigan and as we came off the motorway at Horwich there was a queue of traffic. We got to the lights and right in the middle of the junction there was a motorcyclist face down on the road, her bike in pieces and a couple of guys who had stopped to help. It had only just happened.

Lou pulled in and I pulled in behind her. I grabbed my high vis and followed Lou and Aram as they went to help. They passed a car that was behind my lorry but I stopped and opened the passenger door to check that the person in it was okay and if they had been involved. As I opened it I saw it was one of our new trainees, Jake. He was just sitting there in total shock. He had collided with the bike, the passenger side of his car was a mess and the front wheel bust. I got him to sit in the passenger side and give his mum a ring. He’s only a young lad. As Alice came out of the mini bus I left her to look after Jake and went to help at the scene. Aram was making phone calls to managers and police, Lou started to control traffic one way and I did the other way. The first responder arrived and looked after the biker. She was awake and talking and I think it was her arm or collar bone that was painful. Thank goodness she was wearing all the right gear. When the police arrived I asked if he was taking over the traffic control, he said we were doing such a good job we could carry on and he could help the paramedics. Lou, Aram and I had things running smoothly. Lol.

When I heard the biker cry out, “Oh no, my baby, my baby,” my heart sank as I thought she was losing a child. Thankfully she was lamenting the fact that her bike was in three pieces.

Whilst I was talking to Jake another biker, who had stopped after witnessing the accident, came over. He was huge and looked like a Hells Angel biker, I thought ‘eek’. Looks are deceptive, he was checking that Jake was alright....phew!

When the biker was in the ambulance, Aram said we should leave. I had the traffic flowing and under control but as I left it just went to pot in seconds lol. We should have waited a few minutes longer.

Anyway, new bikes can be bought, cars can be fixed, bones will heal, shock can be soothed, donors can rebook. Alice, Aram, Lou and I were proud to be in our uniforms and helping, we were so glad we stopped and supported a colleague, our manager was proud of what we did. I am so glad it turned out alright for everyone and the way the team came together was amazing. The police thanked us for our support too. These are the people I want to be around me if ever anything should happen because I know they will just get on with whatever is thrown at them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.