baby giraffe moved

Prince Samuel and I went on a wonderful and long walk this morning and I saw the baby giraffe again, nearby but in a new location. 

I hope the family finds it HERE and kudos to whoever is moving it.

During the walk I called one of my favorite relatives. Her granddaughter is staying at college for Thanksgiving to eliminate the risk of bringing COVID home to her grandmother. My relative is enjoying taking quilting classes by zoom and meeting people from all over the world. 

The news is full of all the people who are traveling for Thanksgiving, and barely any mention is given to all the people who are not. Some of the people who are traveling won't actually be seeing family indoors. By spreading the narrative that everyone is traveling and ignoring advice, the media is normalizing it and increasing the number who will travel and ignore advice. Let me just state, you aren't the only one behaving responsibly, you just aren't getting any attention for it. I personally appreciate the care you are taking, I enjoy having you around. 

Because 2020 sucked I got something I've wanted to try for a while now - a turducken. If you haven't heard of it, it is a chicken inside a duck inside a turkey. No, there is nothing normal about this. Yes, it does rather sound like a sin against nature. You can see why I'd be intrigued. 

I think I did the most important part this evening - I moved it from the freezer to the refrigerator to defrost. I'm really looking forward to it. 

Many years ago we were caught in such awful Thanksgiving traffic that we finally gave up and went home. Almost every Thanksgiving since has been us, at home, usually with an "orphan." This year will be in keeping but instead of inviting someone I'll bring some food to my neighbor who lives by herself. She will be with her family by phone and Zoom. If my other neighbor decides to stay home after all I'll bring her turducken too. 

Our house has reached the age where all the devices must die. The HVAC died unusually early. Everything else lasted a good time. We've replaced the washer and dryer a couple of years ago and the dishwasher before COVID. The refrigerator is leaking. The water heater has now died. There is nothing else really left is there? Oh, yes, the stove. I just looked it up. That should die any moment now too. 

I know that The Crown is fictionalized and not a documentary, but it is fascinating. Living in the US and managing my own life, there is so much that I was somewhat aware of but of course didn't get too deep into. I'm glad there will be two more seasons. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.