Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A day in town

Off to the charity shop early, with a couple of big bags of assorted stuff - a radio, a box of A4 photographic paper, blank CDs, a unused Karcher glass cleaning thingie (it was useless on the tiles in the shower). 

I then chopped a few veggies, some beef, red wine etc and chucked them in the slow cooker. Nice to come home to smell of cooking.

We all set off into town for my appointment at the Apple Shop. We stopped for a coffee at Kauai, but I could see that time was getting tight - and one thing I hate - is being late for anything. So I jumped on a bus that took me down town, then walked along to the shop in good time. Archie and JR had a wander down town too - they even went shopping (browsing) in Anthropologie. 

Well, I’d got it wrong. They’re not doing the in-person sessions for tips and tricks, just for prospective buyers. The chap at the door spotted that I had a new one, and asked if I was going to buy another one. No!

I was tempted to continue along the road a bit and up the hundreds of steps to Calton Hill as I haven’t been there for ages, and there are so many photo ops there on a sunny afternoon. But I didn’t want to go without Archie - he loves it up there and has a good run around. And so I had a dander through town instead. What a glorious day it was.

This tacky fence caught my eye, and reminded me how much I’m enjoying the lack of the ‘Winter Wonderland’ wooden huts, temporary pubs, Helter skelters and the Big Wheel defacing the place and ruining the grass once again. I do hope it’s not the start of something...

PS Archie did not woof at the back door at all last night. He wants to sleep on the bed, where he’s much more settled. JR reckons he’s having his ‘wee turns’, which waken him up and he gets agitated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.