ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Livin’ on a Prayer

As Bon Jove so succinctly put it “Woah, we’re half way there....”
I find it quite hard to believe that six months have passed, and I’m now half way through my year long chronicle of life during (and hopefully after) the pandemic. As you can see from the photo, the view out of the back door is a lot greyer than it was when I made it the subject of my very first Blip at the end of May, and there’s been a lot of cutting back of shrubs, trees and hedges. And I really thought I’d moved the stone mushroom a bit further than just from one side of the tree to the other!!
I had hoped by now to be talking about how well we’re doing as regards beating the disease but, apart from hopeful news regarding a vaccine, we seem to be no further forward than we were 6 months ago. Case numbers are similar and once again we are nearing the end of a national lockdown, albeit one of only four weeks duration. Shops will be able to reopen shortly and limited travel will be possible.
But, just like in June, it won’t be possible to meet people you don’t live with in an indoors setting and pubs cannot open (unless serving food). And whilst it is permitted from Wednesday, my gym has decided to stay closed until January.
I think the biggest change is probably that we have to wear masks everywhere we go now. That was only recommended and not mandatory back in June. And the weather is not as conducive to outdoor activities as it was in May, but it’s not that bad and I’m still able to go out running a couple of times a week without getting soaked or frozen!
So, nothing has really improved in six months but there are signs that a corner might soon be turned. I’d like to think that if I review the situation again in three months time, it will be a lot more positive. As that will be twelve months from when the virus first took hold in the UK, I certainly hope so!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.