ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Slow Train

For once, the weather forecast was correct and today dawned bright and clear. It also dawned very cold, but I didn’t find that out until I went out for a run before lunch! Luckily (?) I’d opted for a more up and down route today so had warmed up nicely by the time I was halfway round. Mind I was knackered as well, due to the steepness of some of the route. Swings and roundabouts really - if I’d done the flat route I’d have had a long walk back home in the freezing conditions. Not what you want when you’re hot and sweaty after a run, so I opted to avoid catching a chill in return for puffing and panting my way up a few hills.
Went to Arnside after lunch for a walk along the shore. It was cold, but there was no wind so not too bad really. Lovely views across the estuary and I managed to snap a couple of trains as they crossed the viaduct. Bizarrely, the photo I took as dusk was approaching came out a lot better than the one I’d taken earlier in much brighter conditions!
With rain, sleet and snow forecast for the rest of the week, I suspect that could be our last afternoon walk for some time. Still, lockdown ends tomorrow so maybe there will be other activities on offer to entertain us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.