Beewriter

By Beewriter

Polar Swim

Oh my, it was an exceedingly cold start to the day....but oh so bloomin’ fantastic. It was the first swim at the Quays since lockdown ended and the usual gang were there.

It was a huge effort to take my dryrobe off in the cold, never mind actually getting in the water. Sam walked down the ramp and straight in, Victoria slid down on her bum, Alexandra grimaced and slid down and I entered the water in full Drama Queen mode with sound effects that made sure everyone knew I was there! I couldn’t help it, it was so cold that my fingers and toes felt like they just dropped off and sank to the bottom of the dock. The cold water made my shoulders hurt so much. But after a few strokes I was numbed and I could breathe and I felt so alive and at one with everything around me. The sun twinkled across the water, the sky became bluer, the air zinged around me....I just felt amazing.

Sam and I swam the whole course down to the bridge whilst Alexandra and Victoria did laps of the short swim. By the time Sam and I were nearing the end of the course we slowed down and felt like we were warm so we knew that was the time to get out before we had any problems. I had all my clothes wrapped round a hot water bottle waiting for me in the car. It is always a struggle to get dressed with fingers that won’t work but once we were dressed we chatted by our cars and drank hot drinks and shared cake. You just can’t beat a morning like that!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.