LadyPride

By LadyPride

The Gruffalo

After a couple of glasses of wine and some good company last night, I felt a lot better after my down day yesterday.

Unfortunately, my low mood returned this morning. And it was infectious! Audrey woke early when the sun came up (black outs on the nursery window tonight) and was irritable all day as a result, finally napping around 4pm after missing her regular naps.

We headed into town with my sister to meet up with my husband's boss's wife Cath who is up here from London while they get the new place open. She has a 17 week baby called Isla. Isla was so small and dainty and holding her after Audrey felt so strange. Was quite jealous that Isla likes to be cuddled (Audrey never has, in fact she wriggles if you try and embrace her and only wants to face outwards). It felt amazing, I could have held her like that for hours!

Today's blip pic shows Audrey looking into the pram standing on Cath's knee. She was quite taken with Isla. As was Isla with her.

I found it hard to talk to Cath though. My 'small talk' stores are depleted along with my serotonin levels. We left early, preferring the familiarity and company of my sister Jo who stayed in town and got some lunch with us.

Woe is me, grumble, grumble blah blah. My husband is calling me The Gruffalo at the moment, seems apt!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.