Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Tissue holders

Last time we were out for a walk, it hit me quite forcibly how wasteful of plastic the little packs of tissues (as seen back left) are.  I've been musing over it for a few days, and have discussed with W.  

We mostly use toilet paper for tissues when at home, but this is not particularly practical when out and about!  We are aware that it is entirely possible to use cloth hankies, but neither of us were particularly keen on that.  We bought tissue boxes with tissues made from bamboo (with a repeat order of kitchen rolls) from Who Gives a Crap - we've been using them for toilet paper deliveries for a couple of years now.  W experimented with folding the tissues, and I found a pattern (in fact, I found lots of patterns, but I chose one that looked good) on the internet for tissue holders.

The green one at the front left was my first effort, made to exactly the pattern suggested.  But I decided that I preferred a slightly more compact holder, with an overlap of the edges.  I've stacked the tissues inside in a concertina, so that when you pull one out, it brings with it the leading edge of the next tissue.

It took less than 2 hours to make and fill these 4.  I'll do another 4 tomorrow, and fill them with tissues.  It's a little bit tedious folding and stashing the tissues, but only takes a few minutes for each holder, and that bit of time (and we're not short of time at the moment) will allow us to gradually wean ourselves off yet another source of "non-recyclable" plastic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.