#electronicears best of 2020

It's the last Sunday of the year and thus the occasion of my annual retrospective on #electronicears. Even after all this time, doing the radio show continues to be a voyage of discovery for me, not only in finding new music but also artists I've missed that have been around for years or who released music decades ago, such as Hans Edler.

Previously, then, my 'best of the year' would have included tracks that weren't released in the previous twelve months, but this year there has been enough new music to base the 'best of' show entirely around tracks released in 2020. (The biggest resulting sacrifice was that I played nothing by UNE, whose 'Lost' was one of my top three albums, this year.)

If you're interested, you can hear the show as a podcast, here, and below are the tracks that I played:

'The Revolution of Super Visions' by Jane Weaver

'Kitchen Sink' by Nadine Shah - my favourite single, this year.

'Red' by Polly Scattergood

'Sacrifice' by Near Future (one of two side projects by Blancmange's prolific Neil Arthur)

'Blue Crow' by Hayden Thorpe (the former Wild Beasts front man)

'Howl' by John Foxx & The Maths

'Vasto' by Cabaret Voltaire

'Signal Post' by Craven Faults - almost certainly my favourite artist over the last couple of years.

'Comin' over Here (feat. Stewart Lee)' by Asian Dub Foundation

'A Wonderful Hope' by Late Night Final (aka J Wilgoose from Public Service Broadcasting)

And I've put together a Spotify play list of those tracks here.


****
-11.2 kgs
Reading: still on a breather after Strike.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.