Looks a bit like Spring!

It poured buckets today! I drove to Vancouver, WA to see my parents (my usual Wednesday visit) and the roads had a lot of standing water on them. Fortunately it seems to have settled down to showers now. 

I was able to get outside when I got home to poke around the garden a bit. Although it's certainly a long way till spring, there are plenty of plants that are stirring and even showing color. Here's a couple to liven up the end of the year. 

The main blip is Pieris japonica  'Little Heath' which I purchased for the "new" back garden almost 2 years ago now. I just looked it up so I could tell you a bit about it and was surprised to see that it will eventually grow to 5' x 5' - oops. I assumed (incorrectly evidently) that the "little" referred to size. But it actually refers to the size of the LEAVES. It may have to move. Regardless, it's a stunner, and certainly a tease with those lovely deep pink buds! It looks like its about to burst open, but I'm sure it will be a while yet.

And the Daphne odora 'Aureomarginata' - Variegated Winter Daphne - does bloom early and is beginning to show some pink in the blossoms - see extra. 

So as this miserable year comes to an end, I see signs of new life which cheer me up immensely!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.