Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Climate Change!

How can you argue with the experts when our change in climate can be so spectacular.  One moment you’re defending your home from raging bush fires and at the same time the following year you’re sitting up in bed looking out at a bush setting absolutely soaked through and the mist rising through the trees.  

What a year we have all been through.  All of our best laid plans had to be set aside and even now the entire planet is still restricted and confined to barracks.  I can’t imagine when we will be back to normal but here in Australia we have little to complain about.  My main regret is that I’ve been unable to visit my family in three states of Australia.  A wonderful trip I had planned with friends to cross Australia in convoy in our Motor Homes in September had to be cancelled.  Sadly my trip next week to see the grandchildren in Victoria has also been postponed due to the current outbreak in NSW and Victoria.  “Patience is a virtue” - SO THEY SAY!

HOWEVER, there is also another saying - “There is always light at the end of the tunnel” and for me that came in a life changing way during the course of the Pandemic.  Way, way back in late March early April at the start of the “Lockdown” in Australia I had the good fortune to reconnect with an old friend.  Catherine and I had sold my friend a house in the mountains when we were running our Real Estate business.  We were both in “Solitary Confinement” living alone, me hunkered down at Wombat Hollow and my friend was confined to barracks over 300km’s away in the South Coast village of Mollymook..  It was wonderful to be able to support each other during such a difficult time.  

I’m overjoyed to report that the Blackheath Earthling (BE) and the Mollymook Earthling (ME) are still keeping each other company and we have been travelling backwards and forwards between our two regions during the course of the year.  It is wonderful to have ME in my life and I have a very strong suspicion that this friendship has been orchestrated by a very clever and loving person who has been watching over both of us. 

Of course I have wanted to share my news with my Blip Buddies but the time had to be right.  And so a new journey has begun and it’s a journey I will embrace with open arms as I know in my heart now that my beautiful CCN would want me to be happy as I walk along life’s winding road. 

My heartfelt love and best wishes to all of you who have been so SO supportive over the past six years.  Yes I’m back and loving it :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.