Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2021 Wednesday — Text Conversation

Back story: Dorothy is my friend whose husband died 2+ years ago of complications from a heart attack. She sent this text tonight (I took a screenshot of it).
= = = = = = = = = =

My response: This is awful. Dorothy, this has to bring up very sensitive memories for you. I’m really sorry. Was Gabe sick? or this just came out of the blue?

Dorothy’s reply:
The last few days he wasn’t feeling that great but wouldn’t go to the doctor. She called me to get info on what to do and who to call. Also about being buried at the national cemetery. Bring back memories, you bet.

My response:
Many, many people don’t know what to do when they are in Ann’s situation. The term “first responder” is said often these days, but I can remember vividly the day I first heard Mr. Fun tell someone he was a “last responder.” He would get called in after all the first responders had left. He would sit with the family during the first waves of shock and grief and was there when the questions of “what to do” and “who to call” would first surface. Dorothy that’s what you did today for Ann. You were a “Last responder.” And while it felt all too familiar and painful for you, you were helping Ann through possibly the hardest moment of her life. You are an amazing giving caring friend. Ann’s world turned very hard and harsh today. You were a soft comforting place for Ann to fall.

I love you! If I were in SoCal, we’d have a margarita together right now and cry (and maybe laugh some too).

And . . .

if I ever need a “last responder” I hope someone like you will arrive.

Dorothy’s reply:
I will definitely respond in a second.


= = = = = = = =
That was my Wednesday late evening.

Good night from California’s Central Coast,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.