Odofuran

By Odofuran

Into The City

Even though I'm always saying I'm from Chicago, I'm actually from a western suburb and haven't spent that much time going around the city. Today I met up with a friend from high school and walked around downtown, taking loads of pictures on the way. First stop was Millenium Park, and the main art piece there is the Cloud Gate, which is a giant mirrored bean (many people just call it "The Bean"). Took lots of shots using the reflective surfaces around, and then headed underneath, sat down, and took pictures pointing at the different parts. Really wish I had a wide angle or a fish-eye lens at that time. When I get my 7d this year, that is one of the lenses I'm buying, for sure.

After the park, walked along more, went down Michigan Ave and ended up at the original Gino's East for deep dish pizza. Fantastic. Missed it so much. Add in a few microbrew beers and it was a perfect meal.

Started today with delayed jet lag. Woke up at about 3, couldn't get more than 3 hours or so of sleep on the night. Long day being out and about, but it was good to have one of those days. And it ended well with a Blackhawks' win, extending their record streak to 18 games starting a season without losing a game in regulation. And I'm so glad I was able to actually catch up on my Blipfotos. As Ice Cube would say, it was a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.