Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

I just remembered that a few years ago, I had in fact, purchased a pair of thingies to wear over my shoes for icy pavements. I found them! And so I set off to the shop this morning to purchase a few items for Uncle A, as arranged yesterday. But I very soon discovered that they were not ideal. While they were quite good on the pavements, once I was in the shop, I was skidding round like an ice rink. In fact, I had to hold on to the shelving all the way round. I need to get a better pair.

However, when I rang Uncle A. He told me he’d already been down to the shopping centre... a bus there and taxi back, so quite do-able. Anyway, the wee local Sainsbury’s didn’t have many of the items he wanted. I’ll give up and let him do his own shopping.

Archie went out for a shorter but colder than usual walk with Elizabeth and they had great fun (Extra). We just relaxed by the fire for the rest of the day. It’s amazing how quickly the day goes!

We’re watching ‘A Very Scandi Scandal’ on Walter Presents. It’s a Swedish ‘comedy’, about two middle aged women who rob a bank, and it is quite laugh-out-loud funny at times. Definitely makes a pleasant change from grisly murders!

1,035 deaths today (a 132% rise on last week); 59,937 positive cases; and a total of more than 80,000 deaths.

Photos by my second assistant, Elizabeth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.