Across Windermere

The pandemic has, I think, accelerated a number of changes that were otherwise progressing at a slow but steady rate: the decline of the high street and related increase in online shopping is one example, more people working from home is another.

A third example is digital signatures. I can't remember the first time I used Docusign* but it was certainly years ago. It's evidently legally binding but I've never met anyone who could tell me how or why that is so. It certainly appears to be true that it's not good enough for some signatures, those required to buy a house, for example.

And also those that go on company books, so today I drove up to Ambleside to drop my signed documents off with our accountant. We've been in business and using these accountants for long enough that the chap who used to do the legwork on our stuff is now a partner in the firm: I had a nice catch up with him, today, standing at a responsible distance on the pavement outside their offices.

On the way back, I took a small detour to a car park overlooking Windermere, which gives this wonderful view. I wish I had even a little of @intothehills comprehensive knowledge of the Lakes' mountains and hills, in which case I would be able to tell you the name of that snow-covered fellow in the distance.

*Other digital signature services are available

****
Reading... nothing. With the stack(s) of unread books I have, I should just leap onto the next one. But I haven't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.