Thursday Musings

I did very little. But someone else filled the house with flowers. An extravagance, I know. And she knows. We’re extravagant creatures. It’s a good thing though - putting money into others' pockets, after all. The trickle down effect. I wonder if I find could someone to polish and buff my shoes? And starch my collars. 
Later a film about a society where that was all abolished. Dear Comrades, which depicts the 1962 violent suppression of a strike in Novocherkassk. A terrific film - isn’t it great watching something that authentically takes you to another place and time. Time travel. That’s never been invented, y'see. Place travel. That was invented but was then banned. 
And no wonder it looks authentic mind, the director Andrei Konchalovsky’s first appearance at yer Venice film festival was as a co-writer on Tarkovsky’s Ivan’s Childhood way back in exactly 1962. He must be getting on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.