Abi road

I've told this story on here before but many, many years ago, my (second) ex-wife and I went to a parents' evening at the local primary school. This was, I hasten to add, because we had children at the school.

On this particular evening, the child in question was my youngest, Abi, who was, from our perspective, a quiet and perhaps introverted child. Her teacher opened by saying "Well, Abi is the class comedian, of course" and for a moment I was embarrassed (for the teacher) that she'd got the wrong Abi.

But, as it turns out, Abi is a natural comedian; she has funny bones. Whilst it might not have been apparent to us at home when she was younger, it's become more and more evident over time. She is one of those people who can raise a laugh with a well-timed pause.

When she was younger, I put some posts on Instagram of her walking over zebra crossings, with the caption 'Abi Road'. Recently, they've installed a new one by Booths so today I suggest we resurrect the idea. She was up for it straight away, popping the Booths bag over her shoulder, and striding over the crossing.

I tell you, being locked down with her and Dan is an absolute treat.

****
Reading: 'A Treachery Of Spies' by Manda Scott

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.