Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

After yesterday’s excitement, today was bound to be a slow day. I did not set foot outside, although the expected snow did not arrive (just a few flurries in the afternoon). JR braved the elements with Archie. Funnily enough, she seemed to prefer that to watching the Ireland v Wales rugby match. 

I forgot to mention a very exciting letter I got yesterday! (I had so many other treats). I have been waiting for this for about a year. No - not the big win on ERNIE (Premium Bonds), but a letter inviting me for an appointment re my arthritic left thumb. This has been getting so much worse, and I know that a steroid injection will help. Of course, all that has been abandoned this last year, but it looks like run-of-the-mill NHS work is getting back on track at last.

We came across a very good Netflix series last night - Charité at War which is set in 1943 at the Charité Hospital under the Nazi regime. It shows how the war affected the doctors, nurses and patients at Berlin's renowned learning hospital. German language, with subtitles (ie NOT dubbed).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.