Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

What an exciting day this has been! And I haven’t been able to say that for many a long month. There were treats all day.

* We got our first vaccinations.
* Scotland beat England at Twickenham for the first time since 1983!!
* We walked down town and back and didn’t get wet.
* I did almost 9,000 steps (counting biking).
* We had sweetcorn fritters for tea.
* Archie had his first big long walk all week.
* Scotland won the rugby.

The timing was great - Archie went out with Elizabeth, so then we could wander off down town. And I was back in time for both games of rugby. We walked down to the EICC, which is a huge space, well set up, had to walk miles following one way arrows. But it really wasn’t busy - there were dozens of booths with a nurse/doctor sitting doing nothing. In fact, I think the ones that did have patients were pleased of the company. I had a charming doctor, who was keen to chat. He laughed when I asked if I could take a selfie (JR had put the notion in my head) so I asked if I was the first person to ask. But no, I was the second today. 

But they really need to ‘ramp it up’. 

We watched ‘Penguin Bloom’ last night on Netflix. Very good. A bit of a tear jerker, based on a true story. All the way through the film, I couldn’t place the lead actor’s name, I KNEW his face. I checked the IMDb afterwards, and yes, he is Andrew Lincoln, and I’ve recently been watching him in ‘This Life’ a 90s series, when he was fresh-faced and much younger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.